St Luke's Anglican Church in Enmore a lively, inclusive welcoming liturgical community

Twentieth Sunday after Pentecost 2018

Welcome to our worship this morning!

At St Luke’s we seek to share God’s unconditional love and acceptance of all people, regardless of age, gender, race, marital or family status, sexual orientation, disability or wealth.


Celebrant & Preacher:        Fr Philip Bradford

Welcomers:                        Ann P (for Angela) & Peter Seymour

Next week:                         Peter Gilbert & Alfredo Narnolo

Readers:                              Noel Jeffs & Rosemary Bradford
Readers next week:             Susan Hill & Peter Gilbert
Intercessor:                         Moya Holle
Next week:                         Diana Jefferies

Hospitality:                        John M, Evelyn M, Ruth C (birthday cake)
Next Week:                        Reddy family

Flowers/Dusting Sat 13th :    Ann Petersen & Peter Gilbert


Gluten free hosts are available – Please see the Welcomers.


This church is fitted with a hearing loop – please turn your hearing aid

to the T-setting.



And be a friend and like us on Facebook


Happy birthday to: Stuart Grigg; Mandy Tibbey; Ann Petersen; Moya Holle; Amelia Zea; Lucy Raj; Peter Tregilgas; Ian Mylchreest; Eddi Kittirat; Lea MacNeil; Angela Bell and anyone else with a birthday this month.

Welcome to any visitors today and please join with us for morning tea in the hall following the service.

The flowers in the church today have been donated by Ann Petersen in memory of her husband, Peter Petersen


The Anglicans Together AGM is being held this afternoon at 2.00 pm at the St James Building, Level 1 | 169-171 Phillip Street, Sydney. All welcome.

Wednesday 10 October – Cinema Paradiso Ladies in Black – at 6.30 p.m. Dendy Newtown. Meet by 6.15 (entrance) if you wish to sit together.

Next Sunday 14 October – St Francis Day; our young people will be taking part! All domestic pets welcome and come and join in this joyous occasion. Wardens Meeting will follow morning tea.

Friday 19th October – St Paul’s Burwood Bus Trip (cost of $60 includes paper bag lunch, tea and coffee) – Lower North Shore Church Crawl starts at 8.45 a.m. from the public bus stop opposite the church. Bus leaves promptly at 9 a.m. See their website for further particulars.

Sunday 21 October is our St Luke’s Patronal Festival service, The Rev’d Judith Atkinson, Rector of the Parish of Hampden, Melbourne Diocese, will now be our guest preacher. The service is followed by a shared lunch. Due to a function in the hall the preceding evening, it will be necessary to set up our hall for the lunch before church on Sunday morning about 8.30 am; all help appreciated with putting up tables, chairs and putting cloths, glasses and cutlery out.

Thursday 25 OctoberAnglicans Together Dinner at City Tattersalls Club, 194 Pitt St, Sydney – 7.00 for 7.30 p.m. start. Please tell Moya Holle if you are coming. Our Guest Speaker this year is our very own Anne Hywood, General Secretary of the General Synod, Anglican Church of Australia. ($70/$65 conc., pay in advance to

Saturday 27 October, 9.30 to 3.30 – NSW Ecumenical Council Theological Reflection Commission Conference, College of Divinity – see noticeboard.

Sunday 28 October – Parish Council meets after morning tea.

Opshop Volunteers needed, particularly on Saturday mornings. If you can assist once a month or only occasionally, please see Andy, or Ruth.

ANNOUNCEMENT- St Luke’s Play Group starts Monday 15th October, weekly between 10.00 a.m. and 12 noon for 0-5 year-old children and their Carers. For further information please talk to Ian Mylchreest, Matilda Rinker, Moya Holle or Christine Thurley,.

Expressions of interest are invited from parishioners and friends for an all-day Quiet Day – Sat 1st Dec at Golden Grove and/or a weekend Retreat at Stroud on 3/4th November. If you are interested in either of these, please speak to Fr Philip next week or email him on

Jam jars are needed by Lea MacNeil, particularly 200 – 300 gm size, no lids are required. Please remove labels and leave them in our church office.

At August Parish Council meeting, it was the consensus of the members that the temporary office at the rear of the hall be removed and that interested parishioners be asked to form a sub-committee to carry out an audit of our buildings to ascertain a suitable space which could be adapted for Young People’s Ministry. Please see the Wardens if you would like to be part of this sub-committee of the Parish Council. It was thought that the temporary fabric detracted from the hall and the space, and would become a dumping ground for Opshop and other stuff in general.


Parish Information       ABN.78 161 584 893.


Sung Eucharist and Children’s Ministry at 9.30 am followed by hospitality in the hall. Evening Prayer in our Chapel on 1st Sunday of the month at 6.00 p.m.

Thai Community meets at morning tea. Enquiries to Amanda Mason 0407 101 382.


Wednesday 9.30 a.m. – Morning Prayer; and

10.00 a.m. Eucharist and Prayers for Healing (followed by morning tea)

Friday 8.30 a.m. – Morning Prayer led by Peter Seymour.

Rector – Fr Philip Bradford;Phone 9557 4219 – 0431 655 220 (Mob)
PO Box 64. Enmore NSW 2042

Parish email:

Lay Ministers-Part Time: Lea MacNeil & Amanda Mason
Honorary Lay Minister: Peter Seymour

OFFICE HOURS: Tuesday, Friday 8.30 to 10.30 a.m.
www.stlukes Clergy Associate:

Fr John Reimer

Organist: Kathy Drummond Occasional Organist: C. Brooks

133 Enmore Rd, Tel: 9550 5713
Hours: Tues‑Wed & Friday 9.30 ‑ 4; Thursday 9.30-3; Sat 9.30 – 2.30.

Healthy Church Life Group:

Fr Philip; Peter Seymour, Moya Holle, Ian Mylchreest, Fabian LoSchiavo, Evelyn Maack, Brett Davies; Angela Bell and Ruth Champion.

The Long Table – Brett Davies – email to

Fabian LoSchiavo: 0417670749.
Eddie Reddy: 0410634948
Ruth Champion: 0400166041Parish Council:
Andy Serafin; Angela Bell; Susan Hill; Peter Seymour; Brett Davies, Tony Purcell; Evelyn Maack & James Barnes (Treasurer)

Hall Administrator:
Stuart Veitch Mb 0400-312-354

Synod Representatives
Diana Jefferies & Peter Seymour

Parish Nominators:
Moya Holle; Mandy Tibbey; Susan Hill; Ruth Champion & Stuart Veitch.

Pastoral Care Group
Lea MacNeil; Ruth Champion; John Tonetti, Moya Holle, Ann Petersen.